Dramatic Pause

Unfortunately, I have had to take a dramatic pause from Drama,Daily for the past few days so that I could prepare for my trip to other coast.  I’m out in Los Angeles this week to present at the Comparative Drama Conference.  I’ll be seeing some shows while I’m here, including Sheila Callaghan’s Lascivious Something, so I’ll be sure to report back on that and more in the coming days.

As for my review of Sarah Kane’s Blasted, currently playing at Gable Stage in Miami, I haven’t had a chance to wrap it up with all the chaos of traveling, but it is coming.  (After all, anyone who reads my blog knows that I fall into the camp that believes her work has great merit.)  Until then, I will simply say this: if you live in Florida, and you appreciate theatre, you should see it!  And hurry! because it closes this coming Sunday.  This is only its second staging in the US, and who knows when it will be staged again.

Comments
2 Responses to “Dramatic Pause”
  1. Autumn says:

    Thanks for mentioning Sarah Kane’s play Blasted. Her work is timeless. She’s is/was an amazing writer. I was lucky enough to have the chance to see the first staging of it in the US at Soho Rep last year. It blew my mind. Sarah Benson’s direction was superb as was the set design and acting. I wish I could make it down to Miami to see this staging of it. I’m amazed that its second run in the US is in Florida! Good for the FLA.

  2. Mary says:

    My professor, Dr. Woodworth, wrote her dissertation on Sarah Kane. I would give anything to see this production. As I read Kane’s plays, I couldn’t help but wonder about the staging.

Leave a Reply

  • The Drama Book Shop

